# COUNCIL DECISION 27 JUNE 2024

Mayor Wise / Councillor Taylor

## Option 4 (3 wards) without Community Board:

That Council:

- a. Receive the 'Representation Review Initial Proposal' report; and
- b. **Consider** how its representation arrangements can best provide for the fair and effective representation of identified communities of interest; and
- c. Adopt, in accordance with sections 19H and 19J of the Local Electoral Act 2001, its initial proposal for the review of its representation arrangements the 2025 and 2028 triennial elections as follows:
  - 1. That the basis of election is ward-only, with Napier City to be divided into four wards (proposed boundaries shown in General ward (Doc Id 1770507) and Māori ward maps (Doc Id 1773628)), these being three general wards and one Māori ward.
  - 2. Those four wards shall be:

#### **General Wards**

- I. Ahuriri Ward with three elected ward councillors
- II. Napier Central Ward, with three elected ward councillors
- III. Taradale Ward, with three elected ward councillors

#### Māori Ward

- IV. Te Whanga Ward, with two elected ward councillors
- 3. That, as required by section 19T(1)(b) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the boundaries of the above wards coincide with the current statistical meshblock areas determined by Statistics New Zealand and used for Parliamentary electoral purposes.
- 4. That, as required by section 19T(1)(a) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the four wards and the number of members of each ward will provide effective representation of communities of interest within Napier City.
- 5. That in accordance with section 19K of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Council hereby records that the following changes have been made to the membership and ward, boundaries within Napier City for the reasons set out:
  - The total number of councillors to be elected is decreased by one to provide effective representation of for Napier City. This is achieved by grouping together communities of interest with similar common interests, land use, demographics and access to services.
  - II. The reasons for the change in ward boundaries and reduction of general wards from four to three are to better reflect the district's communities of interest as detailed in the report, and to provide fairer representation by providing reasonably even representation across the wards which complies with the +/- 10% rule as outlined in section 19V of the Local Government Act 2001.

Te Kaunihera o Ahuriri

- III. Introduction of the Te Whanga Māori ward will improve the effective representation of Māori interests within Napier City, and in particular, those on the Māori electoral roll. Based on the total number of Councillors to be elected via wards, a single ward with two Māori Ward Members is introduced on the basis that this will provide for fair and effective representation across the City of those electors who opt to be on the Māori electoral roll when exercising the Māori Electoral Option.
- **IV.** Napier City will be divided into three general electoral ward boundaries, namely:

#### 1. Ahuriri Ward

Comprising of Bay View, Westshore, Inlet Napier City, Ahuriri, Bluff Hill, Hospital Hill, Poraiti Flat, Poraiti Hills, Napier Central, Nelson Park, McLean Park, Awatoto, the eastern part of Meeanee, and the northern part of Onekawa West.

### 2. Napier Central Ward

Comprising of Marewa West, Marewa East, Onekawa Central, Onekawa East, Onekawa South, Maraenui, Pirimai East, Pirimai West, Tamatea North, Tamatea West, and Tamatea East, the southern part of Onekawa West, and the Bupa Willowbank Retirement Village.

#### 3. Taradale Ward

Comprising of Greenmeadows West, Greenmeadows Central, Greenmeadows South, Taradale West, Taradale Central, Taradale South, Tareha Reserve, Bledisloe Park, and the western part of Meeanee.

- 6. That there be no community boards within Napier City. Council is satisfied that the existing communities of interest are represented by the proposed ward structure and actively engaged elected members, and that there are alternative ways to maintain and strengthen local community representation and connections within Napier City Council structures.
- 7. That in accordance with section 19Y(1) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 if no submissions are received on the initial proposal, then this proposal must become the final proposal.
- a) Direct that as required by section 19M of the Local Electoral Act 2001, public notice of the selected initial proposal be given within 14 days of this resolution, and that the proposal be distributed for public consultation.

Carried

Councillors Boag and McGrath voted AGAINST the Motion